Bikes, Passion

My Nothing Box

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Helmet on, gloves on , turn on the ignition  and into my nothing box i go . Riding cancels out all the noise around me.  I think of absolutely nothing, no planning, no plotting, no analyzing, ……nothing!

The act of riding is a form of meditation, because the concentration that’s required to safely ride a motorcycle tends to focus the mind in a way that eliminates other mental distractions that might interfere with the mission. This creates a single-mindedness that, in effect, displaces the continuous stream of thoughts that normally flow through our consciousness.

My commutes to work for the last three years have been the return of thought , hope and therapy.  It has helped with my anger and frustration from having an utterly incompetent boss; at the end of the day, I can at least say I’ve made the day count .

Afoot and light-hearted I take to the open road,
Healthy, free, the world before me,
The long brown path before me leading wherever I choose.

Henceforth I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-fortune,
Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing,
Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criticisms,
Strong and content I travel the open road.”

Walt Whitman, “A Song of the Open Road”

6 thoughts on “My Nothing Box”

  1. Dare I ask if there is a post about the “utterly incompetent boss”? 🙂 Maybe one where you teach him how to ride a bike …

    Like

Leave a Reply

